Skip to product information
1 of 1

Lady Susan, The Watsons, Sanditon

Lady Susan, The Watsons, Sanditon

Regular price $ 285.00 MXN
Regular price Sale price $ 285.00 MXN
Sale Sold out
Jane Austen
BACKLIST | On Sale Date: July 17, 2018
9781847497154, 1847497152
Trade Paperback
224 pages
7.9 in H | 5.2 in W | 0.7 in T | 0.5 lb Wt
  • Fiction / Classics 
  • Fiction / Romance / Historical / Regency

Three unjustly neglected novels spanning Austen's literary career--from the early Lady Susan (recently made into a film) to the unfinished Sanditon.

Comprising one finished novel, Lady Susan, which was published posthumously, and two unfinished fragments, Sanditon and The Watsons, this collection--full of melodrama and burlesque, and exploring a range of literary styles and social classes--spans the entirety of Jane Austen’s writing life.

The epistolary novel Lady Susan is the darkly humorous tale of the amatory schemes and machinations of an ambitious and unprincipled coquette. The Watsons is the tale of the refined and well-educated Emma Watson, forced by the second marriage of her aunt to return to the house of her impecunious father and face the marital plots and intrigues of her sisters. Begun in the last few months of Jane Austen’s life, Sanditon, set in a fast-growing former fishing village, swiftly becoming a fashionable resort, pokes fun at the inhabitants of the new coastal town, with all their hypochondria, witlessness and self-obsession.

View full details